Top 10 Cartoons that shaped my Childhood

Wuddup Everyone!

Before I begin, I would like to thank Aaaaalllllll my friends (whether I know you or not) from across the world (literally countries I didn’t even know existed) for giving me so much support and messaging me with so much positivity and encouragement. You’ll made me feel like I was watching my favourite cartoons again 😉 😉

Speaking of Cartoons, I’m sure a lot of us have had cartoons which we identified the most with. So, here are the 10 cartoons that shaped my childhood. I’ve also posted the theme songs and title card gifs incase, for some reason, you were living under an effin’ boulder and didn’t know. Hit the “like” button if you can relate.

  1. The Flintstones

Flintstones gif

This show fancifully depicted the life of a Working class stone-age man Fred Flintstone, his modern stone-age family and his neighbor/best friend’s family.

I absolutely luuuurrrve how the show had mixed contemporary, everyday life with a stone age setting that just made boring, mundane things like going to work super-duper fun right? 🙂

I can TOTES identify with Fred’s level headed wife Wilma who is a kinda sorta Spend-thrift, her catchphrase being “Da-da-da duh da-da CHARGE IT!!” (If you think I’m a spendthrift, NOW YA’ KNOW WHY?). Also, Pebbles and Bam-Bam were adorbs AF.

  1. Dexter’s Laboratory

Dexters gif

This is a series which follows the adventures of Dexter, a boy genius and inventor, his love-hate relationship with his sister Dee Dee, his secret laboratory and his trysts with archrival Mandark *Cue maniacal Mandarkish laughter now*.

I loved how they made a smart science kid look so “cool” unlike other shows which portray smart kids as “nerds” or “geeks” and make them look funny or stupid…but Hey! Whatevs!

Dee Dee was one of my favorites. She and the G.I.R.L. squad (Comment if you’ll remember what G.I.R.L. stands for :)) were Friendship Goals. I also learnt a very valuable lesson from Dee Dee that its O.K to be intelligent in an unconventional way and have different abilities…it is what make you, YOU!

  1. Scooby –Doo, where are you? (or Scooby-Doo in general) 

Scooby doo gif

DIS SHOW THO!!! MY GAWD!!! Scooby-Doo was a large, loveable but cowardly Great Dane who joins 4 California students (Fred, Daphne, Shaggy and Velma) on a quest to solve mysteries.

My Fave part of this show was the creative, fun way, soooo many life lessons were “taught” (If I may say so) to us. It may sound preachy, but I learnt that:

  1. True friends will always have your back. Especially if a monster or ghost is chasing you 😉 😉
  2. Face your fears head on, as the biggest monsters in life are, sadly, us humans.
  1. Addams Family

Addams family gif

This series depicts the life of Gomez Addams and his family living in Happydale Heights.I absolutely loved Morticia(Tish) and the way she said “Oh Gomez”. It doesn’t sound half as sexy when I say it! L L .Wednesday, Gomez and Tish’s daughter was another of my faves despite her low enthusiasm. I also luurrvved pigtails thanks to her.

  1. Johnny Bravo

Johnny Bravo gif

His Muscles tho!!! 😉 😉 This show is centered on a muscular, boorish guy who tries, unsuccessfully, to get women (babes) to date him.

Johnny Bravo was one of my favorite shows. I can’t pinpoint exactly what I learnt from it, but I really, really enjoyed watching him hit on different girls, get rejected by them and end up in difficult situations. Also, since its Honesty Hour, I can confidently say that I never understood 40% of the adult jokes made on this show…but I laughed anyway 😉

  1. The Power Puff Girls

ppg gif

The show focuses on Blossom, Bubbles and Buttercup, three girls with superpowers and their creator/father- Professor Utonium. They live in Townsville and are often called upon by the naive mayor to protect the city from evil and crime.

Unlike several cartoons today (I’m not hating on the cartoons of today…don’t get it twisted) there were life lessons that I unknowingly learnt from these tiny superheroes. Some of those were, not to judge a book by its cover and there’s nothing wrong with talking to yourself.

Also, puppies are awesome! (Loved the talking dog 🙂 )

  1. Arthur

Arthur gif

This series revolves around Arthur the 8 year old Aardvark (I’m sorry if he’s not 8… Forgive my poor referencing. I’ve done them waaay too often for my projects to care about them).It concerns his family, friends and their day to day interactions.

Arthur was a very”aware” (if I may say so) show where a lot of contemporary issues like asthma, cancer, dyslexia etc. were openly discussed. It also mentioned the importance of family and relationships in a comedic, entertaining way.

  1. Tom and Jerry

Tom and Jerry gif

Tom and Jerry is EVERYONE’S favorite show. I don’t think I know anyone who may have not watched the show. Hence no Introduction required right?

I think one of my biggest dreams as a child was to watch Mammy two-shoes’ face (and now I need to get a degree and find myself a job… How life has changed…). Tom and Jerry were my two favorite characters as a child who taught me to be confident even during a crisis.

  1. Dragon Tales

Dragon tales gif

I think it’s safe to say, that this show made me want to travel to another world (Preferably Dragon land) and nothing, could make me feel better about the fact that I couldn’t go. I also, frankly, don’t recall learning any “Life Lessons” learnt from this show coz ‘Yo! All I wanted to do was go to Dragon Land 😉 ‘

  1. Looney Tunes

Looney tunes gif

An Introduction for a show as popular as this one?! Pshhht! Ain’t nobody got time fo’ dat 😉

My favorite characters were Daffy Duck, Sylvester the Cat and Tweety bird.As a child, I could legit, watch Looney tunes for HOUUURRSSS and I think I can still do it too…What?! I ain’t ashamed 😉

Ooooh! That was one helluva post don’t you think? That’s coz I love my yesteryear cartoons so much. I hope you enjoyed a trip down memory lane with me and I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. Thank you for all the support. It means the world to me. Also, like, comment, follow…all that call to action.

I hope you have a day as wonderful as you are.

xoxo

